The Pale Blue Dot of IU Football

With the commitment and flip from OSU of Sampson James, I kind of came to a realization, and there was no good topic to post this in, so I thought it was fitting to start a new one.

I read pretty much all the IU message boards (though only really post here), and something I just can't get past is the incessant negativity towards our football program.  I'm sick of reading about how IU doesn't spend enough on football facilities or coaches salaries (gripes I don't really see here by the way), which are patently absurd arguments.  I'll be the first to admit, I can get down on some of the play-calling and coaching decisions here and there, but IU football is just a different animal now than when I was a kid or even when I was a student at IU .

I've been watching IU football my entire life (mid 30's), and I've seen us be really, REALLY bad, but we are past that now.  It's now an expectation to be winning 6 games.  Even just a few years ago, winning ANY games in a season was a good thing.  We have truly turned the corner.  I mean, honestly, it's still not out of the realm of possibility that IU could turn in an 8 win season, though that's not an expectation of mine at this point.

I have to give credit to Wilson for starting us on this path, but I think Allen is really going to bring IU football to success it's never seen, and, in my view, he's a coach that will be here for years.  With the way we responded on offense against OSU (a game we were never going to win) after somewhat of a second half debacle at Rutgers, the increased toughness and determination I see every season, and the recruiting that is only getting better and better, I think IU is going to be coming on REALLY strong in the next few years.

In short, though we may struggle a bit this year as our team is really young and we play in THE toughest division in the entirety of college football, the future has never been brighter for IU football.