It's International Beer Day!

Drroogh

So. Funny. When I was a student at IU.  Coors , which is still brewed in Golden,was not available nation wide.  Therefore it became a desired cult beer. And had two IU friends, leave Bloomington one weekend,  for a trip to Golden. To come home with cases of Coors in their car.  Did not take long for it to go away. 

3 minutes ago, milehiiu said:

So. Funny. When I was a student at IU.  Coors , which is still brewed in Boulder,was not available nation wide.  Therefore it became a desired cult beer. And had two IU friends, leave Bloomington one weekend,  for a trip to Boulder. To come home with cases of Coors in their car.  Did not take long for it to go away. 

Two beers I remember from my college days, New York students ( who for some reason were plentiful in Angola ) would bring back Genesee Cream Ale! VERY TASTY!!! The other on the opposite end of the spectrum, for laughs Pennsylvania students would bring back "Miss Old Frothinslosh" "The Pale Stale Ale with the Foam on the Bottom!"

12 minutes ago, milehiiu said:

So. Funny. When I was a student at IU.  Coors , which is still brewed in Boulder,was not available nation wide.  Therefore it became a desired cult beer. And had two IU friends, leave Bloomington one weekend,  for a trip to Boulder. To come home with cases of Coors in their car.  Did not take long for it to go away. 

My Dad would drive a couple hours West of Chicago....cross the Mississippi River and buy Coors in Iowa every once in awhile back in the day. Especially when May rolled around and they would head to IMS with cases of Coors. Never realized it was viewed as unique until much later in life. 

In terms of International Beer Day. Does Summer Shandy count? These last 4 have had a small shelf life. 

10 minutes ago, Seeking6 said: