What do you do for a living?

Howdy everyone,

Partly due to boredom but also due to curiosity, I wanted to start a thread to see what folks here did for a living. 

I work in the financial services industry as an internal wholesaler for a mutual fund company here in Indy. 

What about everyone else?

• Replies 159
  • Created
  • Last Reply

FULLY retired Independent Financial Advisor of 25 years. Sold my business in Indy to another Financial Advisor a couple of years ago.

Before that, I was a marketing exec for 20 years with several corporations.

Now...busting my butt in SC taking care of 10 acres. I need to go back to work, so I can rest !

1 hour ago, DWB said:

FULLY retired Independent Financial Advisor of 25 years. Sold my business in Indy to another Financial Advisor a couple of years ago.

Before that, I was a marketing exec for 20 years with several corporations.

Now...busting my butt in SC taking care of 10 acres. I need to go back to work, so I can rest !

As I continue to get older I gain more and more respect for all of you who “made it” to retirement. 

signed,

Toiling Away 

11 minutes ago, HoosierFaithful said:

I'm not yet 30 but retirement looks really good right now.

You can do it buddy.  Be like one of those of those people on HGTV.  Get a tiny house, park it in your parents driveway, and live off Ramen for the next 50 or so years.

3 minutes ago, HoosierFaithful said:

I'm not yet 30 but retirement looks really good right now.

Jon.  I know you are young.  However, when you are able to retire. You will enjoy it.

I was once was known as a "workaholic".  Spending 72 to 80 hours a week at work.  Most times the first one in.  And the last one out. Like Boiler, my career was in the financial services industry.  Over 40 years.  Did everything. Depending on who I was working for.  From personal loans, to auto loans, to mortgages.  Best and last company I worked for was Citibank.