The Long Game - a takeaway from the Marion game

So many college B-Ball dynamics have changed since I graduated in the early 90s, I wonder sometimes if my perspectives are still accurate.  While far from comprehensive, some of the big changes include:

1. Roster fluidity stemming from the ease and high frequency of transfers
  2. Pessimistic perspective on "NBA prospects" who stay past sophomore season (and upperclassmen in general)
  3. Impact of NIL on school commitment decisions (along with AAU and shoe affiliations)
  4. Ego-inflating aspect of social media - in the "old days" players dreamed of going pro, now every player is convinced they're NBA bound

My enthusiasm and support for IU Basketball hasn't waned over the years but my expectation for IU performance has become fairly pessimistic (I think I'm a realist).  Is this the year I'll have a reason to become optimistic again? 

Before addressing the takeaway that motivated my first post in quite a while, I'd like to mention a few surface-level thoughts from the Marion exhibition.  Some D2 teams are relatively competitive and some not-so-much.  Marion is a good D2 team, but even if they belonged in the "not-so-much" category, there are elements of the game uncorrelated to the competition (open shooting, communication, cohesiveness, unselfishness, energy/effort, etc.).  I'd argue these intangible elements are of equal importance to raw talent and athleticism, and in my opinion IU's performance was entirely positive.  My thoughts:

1. Since Jackson-Davis and Bates missed the game, we were given a good look at IU's depth.  Let's pretend for a moment these two stars aren't on the team.  On every level, the IU team on the floor looked capable of making noise in the NCAA tournament, even without TJD and Bates.