How do we catch the offense up to the defense?

I've been doing a lot of thinking lately thanks to the feedback and suggestions from some of you guys. @Bobhad me questioning some of the things that I thought I was sure of and @Billingsley99reminded me that I don't put enough effort / thought on the defense. I paid for the subscription to kenpom and I have been fooling around with data that I've never used before and there's definitely some interesting stuff in there. The thing that's really stood out to me is just how close our Defense is to the standards required to win a title. That's a pretty crazy tool that we have in the bag just sitting there while we question weather or not Archie is on the hot seat. As always, take it or leave it with the analytics. These posts don't necessarily reflect my views and sometimes they're just thought experiments for the fun of it. 

So the defense is the easy one. I think it's fair to say that as of now if you have a top 15 defense then you can compete for winning the title. Archie's teams have hit 15, 30, 32, and 34 so it's getting close. We landed at 32 last year. I'm not going to dig deep into that right now though.

Let's get some opinion out of the way first. I knew archie was a good coach but I didn't know his systems very well. I did the research and it was depressing because his style goes against everything that I value and enjoy watching. The data suggested that he might run into some issues for us and personally I was prepared and also anticipating that to happen. It did happen and I'm glad that it did. He'll either double down on what he was doing and succeed his way / get fired, it'll be par for the course and we'll be a little bit better, or he'll adjust and we'll be a much better program. I'm confident that he'll adapt and learn.